Legendary director John Carpenter’s Lost Themes!


John Carpenter, the man responsible for a long list of great films from the 1980s, is back with a new collection of original music. As many of us know, Carpenter not only wrote and directed such classics as Halloween, The Thing, and Prince of Darkness, he also composed the scores for many of these films, some of which have gone on to be influential icons in the worlds of film and music.
The new album, entitled Lost Themes, will be available from Sacred Bones Releasing on February 3rd 2015.
Although the title seems to suggest that these songs were somehow hidden gems from the past, in reality the album is composed entirely of brand new music from the 66-year-old auteur. Carpenter says :

Lost Themes was all about having fun. It can be both great and bad to score over images, which is what I’m used to. Here there were no pressures. No actors asking me what they’re supposed to do. No crew waiting. No cutting room to go to. No release pending. It’s just fun. And I couldn’t have a better set-up at my house, where I depended on (collaborators) Cody (Carpenter, of the band Ludrium) and Daniel (Davies, who scored I, Frankenstein) to bring me ideas as we began improvising. The plan was to make my music more complete and fuller, because we had unlimited tracks. I wasn’t dealing with just analogue anymore. It’s a brand new world. And there was nothing in any of our heads when we started other than to make it moody.

The first track from the album can be heard below, or if you prefer to hear the new theme set to scenes from the director’s past films click here to go to the Sacred Bones website.

Lost Themes track listing:

01 – Vortex
02 – Obsidian
03 – Fallen
04 – Domain
05 – Mystery
06 – Abyss
07 – Wraith
08 – Purgatory
09 – Night


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Post navigation